Alaska Gun Laws

alaska gun laws

Alaska Gun Laws are less restrictive than other jurisdictions in the US. Generally, a permit is not required in purchasing and carrying a gun in Alaska. Then, licensing or registration is also not mandatory. However, a permit may come in handy when traveling with a gun in a state that recognizes a permit issued under Alaska Gun Laws.

The State Constitutional Provision that serves as basis for Alaska Gun Laws says, “A well-regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. The individual right to keep and bear arms shall not be denied or infringed by the state or political subdivision of the State.”

Validity of Permits Issued Under Alaska Gun Laws in Other Jurisdictions

Permits issued under Alaska Gun Laws are valid in:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas
  4. Colorado
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Indiana
  10. Iowa
  11. Kansas
  12. Kentucky
  13. Louisiana
  14. Michigan
  15. Minnesota
  16. Mississippi
  17. Missouri
  18. Montana
  19. Nebraska
  20. Nevada
  21. New Hampshire
  22. North Carolina
  23. North Dakota
  24. Ohio
  25. Oklahoma
  26. Pennsylvania
  27. South Carolina
  28. South Dakota
  29. Tennessee
  30. Texas
  31. Utah
  32. Vermont
  33. Virginia
  34. West Virginia
  35. Wyoming

On the other hand, Alaska Gun Laws recognize permits issued from:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas
  4. California
  5. Colorado
  6. Connecticut
  7. Delaware
  8. Florida
  9. Georgia
  10. Hawaii
  11. Idaho
  12. Indiana
  13. Iowa
  14. Kansas
  15. Kentucky
  16. Louisiana
  17. Maine
  18. Maryland
  19. Massachusetts
  20. Michigan
  21. Minnesota
  22. Mississippi
  23. Missouri
  24. Montana
  25. Nebraska
  26. Nevada
  27. New Hampshire
  28. New Jersey
  29. New Mexico
  30. New York
  31. North Carolina
  32. North Dakota
  33. Ohio
  34. Oklahoma
  35. Oregon
  36. Pennsylvania
  37. Rhode Island
  38. South Carolina
  39. South Dakota
  40. Tennessee
  41. Texas
  42. Utah
  43. Virginia
  44. Washington
  45. West Virginia
  46. Wisconsin
  47. Wyoming

Key Requirements and Restrictions Provided by Alaska Gun Laws

Alaska Gun Laws state the following requirements and restrictions:

1. An individual that has been convicted of a felony or declared by the court as a delinquent minor due to a conduct that constitutes felony if committed as an adult is not allowed to purchase or possess a gun that is capable of being concealed. The right of such person to possess or own concealable guns will only be restored 10 years after being discharged of such offense.

2. A person less than 18 years is not allowed to buy a gun.

3. A person under 16 years of age cannot possess a gun except if he has consent from his parent or guardian.

4. A person should at least be 21 years old to be able to carry a concealed firearm.

5. It is illegal to sell or transfer guns to people who have been deemed as physically or mentally impaired. The restriction also covers people who have been impaired due to abuse of illegal substances and intoxicating liquors.

6. To be able to secure a permit to carry concealed handguns (which is required when carrying a gun in states that recognize permits issued under Alaska Gun Laws), a person should be able to fulfill these requirements:

  • At least 21 years old.
  • Not covered by the restrictions discussed in the previous items.
  • A resident of Alaska for at least 90 days.
  • Not convicted of two or more misdemeanor acts categorized under Class A for the past six years.
  • Has not been ordered by the court to undergo a rehabilitation program for alcohol or substance abuse for the past three years
  • Able to display competence in handling handguns.
  • Must be able to furnish the necessary fees, information and other things required by Alaska’s Department of Public Safety.

6. Transporting or possessing a firearm in a motor vehicle is allowed as long as it is securely stored in a closed container.

7. The possession of a firearm within the vicinity or adjacent areas of courtrooms, schools and school-sponsored activities is prohibited. However, security personnel or people authorized by such establishments to carry a gun are exempted from this rule.

8. A loaded gun is not allowed in places that serve liquors. But the owners of such establishments and their employees who need guns in the performance of their duties are exemptions.

9. An individual carrying a concealed firearm should relinquish it to a police officer if required. The police officer is allowed to secure the weapon in the duration of his contact with the possessor of the gun.

10. The possession, transfer, sale or ownership of a machine gun or a silencer is illegal unless in compliance with federal laws and duly registered.

11. A rifle with a barrel length of less than 16 inches or a shotgun with a barrel length of less than 18 inches is prohibited. Then, a rifle or shotgun with an overall length of less than 26 inches is prohibited.

12. Any person who enters a property owned by another individual has a duty to inform the latter that he is concealing a firearm.