Connecticut Gun Laws

connecticut gun laws

Connecticut Gun Laws are based on the State Constitutional Provision that says, “Every citizen has a right to bear arms in defense of himself and the state.” However, it is somewhat different with gun laws in other US jurisdictions.

For instance, Connecticut Gun Laws require a permit to purchase for handguns. Then, starting April 1, 2014, an “eligibility certificate” will be needed for long guns. In addition to these, it is also mandatory for firearm owners to license their handguns as well as secure a permit to carry if they wish to bring their handguns in places outside their legal boundaries. All these will be discussed in the next section of this article.

Key Rules and Restrictions Provided by Connecticut Gun Laws

Here is a brief discussion of the main requirements and prohibitions pointed out by Connecticut Gun Laws:

  1. Starting April 1, 2014 and onwards, an eligibility certificate shall be required for a person purchasing a long gun. Likewise, a person cannot buy a handgun without a valid permit to carry. It should be emphasized though that this rule exempts federal marshals, parole officers, peace officers and other people sanctioned by the government or the law.

  2. A person who is a recipient of a transferred or sold firearm must sign a receipt which will should be in three copies. It should contain his name, address, place of birth, birth date and the period of sale, delivery or transfer of the gun. Moreover, the specifics of the gun like its caliber, serial number and general description should also appear in the receipt. One copy shall be kept by the owner while the others will be kept by the seller and the police chief (or warden of the borough or the first selectman if there is no designated police chief in the area).

  3. A person without a valid federal license is prohibited from selling, transferring or delivering a gun except with authorization from the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection, has undergone NICS screening and has paid the necessary fees during the screening.

  4. A person who is at least 18 years old can apply for long gun eligibility certificate to the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection. This certificate is valid for five years unless revoked.

  5. Any individual issued a long gun eligibility certificate who plans on changing his address must notify the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection within two business days.

  6. A permit to carry or sell a handgun is only given to a person 21 years old or above. The issuance of the permit is facilitated by the Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection with a validity of five years. The transport of a handgun without such permit is illegal.

  7. When carrying a handgun with a permit, every effort must be made to conceal the handgun from plain view so as not to alarm the public according to the Connecticut Board of Firearms Permit Examiners which is a body that oversees revocation of permits.

  8. A person applying for concealed carry license must be a legal resident of Connecticut. Legal alien residents are allowed such privilege if they can present a 90-proof of residency and registration numbers. On the other hand, Naturalized citizens must present a proof of citizenship.

  9. The application for concealed carry permit is automatically denied if the person has been convicted of a felony or a grave juvenile offense. An individual with a history of actions related to endangerment, stalking, violence or possession of illegal substance is also a ground for non-issuance of permit to carry. This restriction extends to the mentally impaired and persons who have been declared by the court as unfit to carry a firearm too.

  10. The ownership of an assault weapon or machine gun is allowed as long as it is registered within the concerned agencies of the state and subject to federal laws.

Validity of Permits Under Connecticut Gun Laws in other Areas

There are only 20 states that recognize permits issued under Connecticut Gun Laws. These are:

  1. Alabama

  2. Alaska

  3. Arizona

  4. Idaho

  5. Indiana

  6. Iowa

  7. Kansas

  8. Kentucky

  9. Michigan

  10. Missouri

  11. Montana

  12. Nebraska

  13. North Carolina

  14. Oklahoma

  15. South Dakota

  16. Tennessee

  17. Texas

  18. Utah

  19. Vermont

  20. Wisconsin

However, it should be noted that Connecticut Gun Laws do not recognize permits issued from other states, even the ones where its permits are valid.

Update Dec 2013: The magazine capacity restrictions is now in effect: max 10 round mags + 1 in chamber. All high capacity magazines now illegal in CT unless registered with CT Firearms Unit, AND registered high capacity mags can ONLY be loaded with more than 10 rounds in one’s domicile OR at approved range, but NOT while in transit.