Iowa Gun Laws

iowa gun laws

The state of Iowa does not make mention of a specific provision of the right of its residents to keep and bear arms. But according to the Institute for Legislative Action, the lobbying arm of the National Rifle Association of America, the Constitution of the state puts a guarantee to the inalienable rights of individuals to defend their lives and properties which is the basis of Iowa Gun Laws.

Validity of Permits Issued Under Iowa Gun Laws in Other Jurisdictions

There are only 27 states as of now that recognize permits issued under Iowa Gun Laws. These are:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. Colorado
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Indiana
  10. Kansas
  11. Kentucky
  12. Louisiana
  13. Michigan
  14. Missouri
  15. Montana
  16. Nebraska
  17. New Hampshire
  18. North Carolina
  19. North Dakota
  20. Oklahoma
  21. Pennsylvania
  22. South Dakota
  23. Tennessee
  24. Texas
  25. Utah
  26. Vermont
  27. Wisconsin

On the other hand, permits issued from these states are valid under Iowa Gun Laws:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. Florida
  10. Georgia
  11. Hawaii
  12. Idaho
  13. Indiana
  14. Kansas
  15. Kentucky
  16. Louisiana
  17. Maine
  18. Maryland
  19. Massachusetts
  20. Michigan
  21. Minnesota
  22. Mississippi
  23. Missouri
  24. Montana
  25. Nebraska
  26. Nevada
  27. New Hampshire
  28. New Jersey
  29. New Mexico
  30. New York
  31. North Carolina
  32. North Dakota
  33. Ohio
  34. Oklahoma
  35. Oregon
  36. Pennsylvania
  37. Rhode Island
  38. South Carolina
  39. South Dakota
  40. Tennessee
  41. Texas
  42. Utah
  43. Virginia
  44. Washington
  45. West Virginia
  46. Wisconsin
  47. Wyoming

Rules and Restrictions Provided by Iowa Gun Laws

Here are the standards and prohibitions mentioned by Iowa Gun Laws:

1. A permit to purchase or carry is not required for shotguns and rifles but buying handguns require an annual permit to purchase and a permit to carry.

2. A permit to purchase a handgun is good for multiple transactions within the year including dealer and non-dealer transactions. However, this is not required for transactions involving people with valid permit to carry, handguns that are antique, handguns that do not have ready firing capabilities, firearms classified as collector’s item by the Commissioner of Public Safety or transfers between relatives up to the second degree of consanguinity or affinity.

2. Registration and licensing of gun owners is not needed.

3. A permit to carry is needed when possessing a handgun in public places.

4. A person who is less than 21 years old, convicted of a felony, adjudicated delinquent with an offense that would constitute felony if committed as an adult, a subject to a protective order, convicted of misdemeanor classified under domestic violence, or someone disallowed by federal law from shipping, transporting, possessing or receiving a firearm is automatically disqualified from securing a permit to purchase or possess a handgun.

5. Any individual below 18 years old is not permitted to purchase an ammunition, rifle or shotgun except when allowed by his parent, legal guardian, spouse who is above 18 years old. The permission of the spouse’s parent or legal guardian would also serve as a valid defense to the prohibition. Then, a person aged 14 to 21 may possess a handgun if with the consent of parent, guardian or firearms instructor at least 21 years old.

6. A person within 18 to 20 years old may possess a handgun or handgun ammunition if he is under the supervision of a recognized firearms instructor, a current member of the US Armed Forces or employed in an agency authorized by the government to carry firearms.

7. Carrying or transporting guns even with a permit is not allowed in the vicinity of schools.

8. All loaded firearms must be kept away from minors below 14 years of age.

9. A person carrying a handgun in his legal dwelling place, registered place of business or his private property does not need a permit to carry. Likewise, an individual lawfully engaged in hunting or target practice, or trasporting a gun in a closed, not readily accessible and secured container does not need to have a permit to carry.

10. Any Iowa-recognized gun permit or license issued from other states cannot be used as a substitue for the annual pemit to acquire handguns.

11. The application of a permit to carry is filed in the office of the Commissioner of Public Safety. All applications must come with the required documentary attachments, proof of successful completion of a course in gun safety by a federal or state-recognized training facility, fees and provision of biometric identifications like fingerprints.

12. The use or possession of a machine gun or suppressor is illegal. However, if the suppressor is used in lawful hunting and within the purview of local laws, this may be allowed.

Preemption

Iowa Gun Laws expressly state that any political subdivision of the state cannot impose an ordinance limiting the lawful ownership, possession, transfer, transportation, registration or licensing of firearms.