Kansas Gun Laws

kansas gun laws

Kansas Gun Laws are based on the State Constitutional Provision that says, “The people have the right to bear arms for their defense and security; but standing armies in time of peace, are dangerous to liberty, and shall not be tolerated, and the military shall be in strict subordination to the civil power.”

In general, Kansas Gun Laws do not require purchase permits, registration of firearms and licensing of owners. However, a permit to carry is needed for possession of handguns in areas specified by the law. These will be discussed in the latter parts of this article.

Validity of Permits Issued Under Kansas Gun Laws in Other Jurisdictions

A permit to carry issued under Kansas Gun Laws is valid in the following states:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. Colorado
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Indiana
  10. Iowa
  11. Kentucky
  12. Louisiana
  13. Michigan
  14. Minnesota
  15. Missouri
  16. Montana
  17. Nebraska
  18. Nevada
  19. North Carolina
  20. North Dakota (Class 1 permits only)
  21. Ohio
  22. Oklahoma
  23. Pennsylvania
  24. South Carolina
  25. South Dakota
  26. Tennessee
  27. Texas
  28. Utah
  29. Vermont
  30. West Virginia
  31. Wisconsin
  32. Wyoming

On the other hand, Kansas Gun Laws honor the permit to carry issued from these states:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. Florida
  10. Georgia
  11. Hawaii
  12. Idaho
  13. Indiana
  14. Iowa
  15. Kentucky
  16. Louisiana
  17. Maine
  18. Maryland
  19. Massachusetts
  20. Michigan
  21. Minnesota
  22. Mississippi
  23. Missouri
  24. Montana
  25. Nebraska
  26. Nevada
  27. New Hampshire
  28. New Jersey
  29. New Mexico
  30. New York
  31. North Carolina
  32. North Dakota (Class 1 permits only)
  33. Ohio
  34. Oklahoma
  35. Oregon
  36. Pennsylvania
  37. Rhode Island
  38. South Carolina
  39. South Dakota
  40. Tennessee
  41. Texas
  42. Utah
  43. Virginia
  44. Washington
  45. West Virginia
  46. Wisconsin
  47. Wyoming

Rules and Restrictions Provided by Kansas Gun Laws

Here are the key rules and restrictions under Kansas Gun Laws:

1. Selling or transferring a rifle or shotgun with a barrel length of less than 12 inches to a person below 18 years old is illegal. A person under 18 can only possess such firearm is he is attending a state-recognized hunter training, participating in a firearm activity authorized by the state, he has the approval or under the direct supervision of his parent or legal guardian, or for purposes of exercising his rights for self defense.

2. A person considered to be a controlled-substance abuser or addict is prohibited from possessing guns.

3. An individual convicted of a felony in Kansas or has committed acts that constitue felony in other jurisdictions is automatically disqualified from possessing a gun. This also applies to someone who has been adjudicated as delinquent for performing an act that would constitute felony if committed as an adult. However, a person who has been cleared or has served his term for the past 10 years (or five years in other instances) is an exemption.

4. The possession of a firearm in school grounds and facilities is strictly not allowed by Kansas Gun Laws. But someone who has been authorized by the school authorities and the law to carry a firearm in his line of duty is excluded from such restriction. Likewise, the prohibition does not include a person attending a firearm training in the same school, an individual delivering or collecting a student who has kept his firearm in a secure container, or a registered voter during election hours who has stored the gun in an enclosed container.

5. It is illegal to possess a firearm in a state building, place of worship, courthouse, locations expressly prohibited by state or federal laws, or areas where there are visible signages that prohibit guns. This restriction excludes the people authorized federal or Kansas Gun Laws to carry guns in such places.

6. A permit to carry a concealed handgun is issued by the attorney general and it is valid only for four years starting from its date of issuance.

7. The possession of machine gun or silencer is illegal. Likewise, a shotgun with less than 18 inches of barrel is not allowed. These can only be allowed if the person carrying it is on active duty in law enforcement, the weapon is no longer serviceable, or it is duly registered under the National Firearms Act.

Concealed Carry Permit Requirements

A concealed carry permit will only be issued if the applicant meets the following conditions:

1. A US citizen and a resident of Kansas for at least six months.

2. At least 21 years old.

3. A non-resident should be an active member of the US Armed Forces.

4. Does not suffer from any physical defects or mental impairment that hinder the safe use of firearms.

5. Should not have been convicted of a felony, adjudicated as delinquent for acts that would be equal to a felony if committed by an adult, addicted to controlled-substances, dishonorably discharged from military service, a subject to a restraining order or convicted to a domestic violence misdemeanor.

6. Must submit all the documents, complete the form, provide his fingerprints and pay all the fees required by the issuing party.

7. Does not have any valid objections from the sheriff of his county.

Preemption

Kansas Gun Laws possess the same preemption clause with most states. The laws of Kansas do not allow any of its political subdivisions to impose any ordinance, resolution or regulation governing the purchase, transfer, ownership, storage or transport of firearms, its components or ammunitions.