The Constitution of Maryland does not mention the right of its residents to bear arms. However, Maryland Gun Laws are more regulated than other states. In general, its laws do not require a permit to purchase firearms and licensing of gun owners. However, a registration and a permit to carry for handguns are needed.
States that Honor Permits Issued Under Maryland Gun Laws
There are only a few states that recognize permits issued under Maryland Gun Laws. These are:
- North Carolina
- South Dakota
On the other hand, Maryland Gun Laws do not recognize permits issued from other states.
Rules and Restrictions Under Maryland Gun Laws
Here are the standards and prohibitions provided by Maryland Gun Laws:
1. Maryland Gun Laws do not limit the sale or transfer of rifles or shotguns, but the sale and transfer of handguns and assault weapons are regulated. Any person not considered by the state as a regulated firearms dealer is not permitted to transfer, lease or sell regulated guns. The transaction can be allowed though through the intervention of a regulated firearms dealer or a designated law enforcement agency.
2. To be eligible to purchase or receive a regulated firearm, a person should be at least 21 years old, not convicted of a disqualifying crime, not a substance abuser, not a fugitive from law, not suffering from a severe mental disorder, has not been committed to a mental institution for the past 30 days, has no tendency to commit violent acts, not adjudicated delinquent for acts that would constitute a disqualifying crime if committed as an adult, not a straw purchaser and he should have completed a firearms safety course mandataed by the state. In addition to these, he should be able to complete the form, submit all the documents and pay the fees required by the Secretary of the State Police.
3. The Maryland State Police may disapprove a transaction involving regulated firearms for reasonable grounds. However, if no objections are made after seven days, the dealer may proceed to deliver the regulated gun to the recipient.
4. An individual who has been denied to purchase a regulated firearm can write to the Secretary of the State Police within a 30-day period to request a hearing. Then, the hearing will be scheduled within 15 days. Unless there are no valid grounds for the disapproval, the earlier decision will be sustained.
5. No purchases involving two or more regulated firearms are allowed within a 30-day period except in instances wherein the buyer has lost his regulated firearm within the 30-day period and that the purchase of one is vital. The purchaser has to furnish the seller an official copy of the police report containing his name, address, description of the firearm, place where the loss occured, plus the date when the regulated gun was lost and reported to a law enforcement agency.
6. The sale or transfer of a customized handgun or a handgun manufactured after January 1, 1985 is not allowed if it is not included in the Handgun Roster Board’s list approved firearms.
7. A handgun manufactured on January 1, 2003 and onwards can only be sold or transferred if it comes with an internal safety lock. On the other hand, a handgun made on or before December 31, 2002 can only be sold by a dealer if it comes with an external safety lock.
8. Displaying a gun at an exhibition also requires a temporary permit issued by the Secretary of State Police.
9. Except for a tubular .22 caliber magazine, a firearm magazine should only have a capacity of not more than 10 rounds.
10. Unless registered with the Secretary of State Police before August 1, 1994, the sale, transfer or possession of an assault weapon is prohibited.
11. A permit to carry a handgun can only be issued if the applicant satisfies the following requirements:
- Must be 18 years old or above.
- Not convicted in any of the disqualifying crimes related to the ownership of guns.
- Not barred by the court of law from possessing firearms.
- Not a substance abuser and of sound mind.
- Has a substancial reason to carry a handgun.
- Is not a threat to self, property or other people.
- Capable of completing or submitting all the necessary forms, supporting documents and fees that the Secretary of State Police requires.
12. The possession of a machine gun in an aggressive manner is illegal. It is assumed that the possession of a machine gun is in an aggressive manner if it is not registered, the person possessing it is guilty of a crime of violence, it is carried within another person’s property or when shells are found in the gun’s immediate vicinity.
13. The identification marks of a firearm such as its serial number and manufacturer logo must not be altered or obliterated in any manner.
Maryland Gun Laws preempt all forms of regulation of guns or ammunitions.