Michigan Gun Laws

michigan gun laws

Michigan Gun Laws are based on the State Constitutional Provision that reads, “Every person has a right to keep and bear arms for the defense of himself and the state.”

In general, Michigan Gun Laws do not require a permit to purchase rifles and shotguns. Likewise, no registration is needed for the said firearms and owners of such guns are not mandated to acquire a license to possess them. But in the case of handguns, a permit to purchase and registration are needed. A permit to carry should also be secured by the owner if he wishes to carry his handgun in places outside his home or areas specified by Michigan Gun Laws.

Rules and Restrictions Provided by Michigan Gun Laws

Here are the requirements and prohibitions stated in Michigan Gun Laws in addition to the general rules mentioned above:

1. A person under 18 years of age is not permitted to purchase a rifle, shotgun or handgun. The same prohibition applies with an individual convicted of a felony, under indictment, determined as mentally unfit, non-resident of the state or non-U.S. citizen. An individual above 18 but under 21 can buy a handgun but not from a federally-registered firearms dealer who is restricted from selling a handgun to a person below 21 years of age.

2. A License to Purchase is required for any transfer involving a handgun. A license to purchase handgun can be acquired from the Chief of Police of a city or the Sheriff of a county where the buyer resides.

3. A gun purchaser is not required to carry a License to Purchase if he is buying a handgun from a Federal Firearms Dealer. But still, a record of the transaction must be kept in record and the merchant’s Federal Firearms License (FFL) number should be reflected on the record.

4. The license to purchase should be completely filled up and it must come in three copies. The license should contain the description of the gun being sold and the signatures of the buyer and the seller. One copy is given to the buyer, another is for the Michigan State Police and the last is to be kept by the seller. Upon receipt of the handgun, the buyer must turn it over temporarily to the local licensing office together with his license to purchase within 30 days. It should be noted that the gun should be locked and securely kept in an encasing when turning it over to the local licensing office.

5. A CCW holder is no longer required to present a license to purchase when buying a handgun, but her is still subject to a criminal background check (NICS) and he must comply with the registration requirements.

6. The possession of a handgun, even with a valid permit, is not allowed in sports arenas, theathers, churches, schools, day care centers, courts, hospitals, casinos, entertainment facilities, or areas where intoxicating substancer are being sold.

7. When transporting or keeping a handgun inside of a vehicle, the owner must have his license to carry at all times. The exemption to this rule would be if the handgun is unloaded and being kept in a secure container not easily accessible to the owner, or if the owner is a law enforcement officer under the performance of his duties. The same is exemption is true with a person possessing an antique firearm which is unloaded and kept securely inside of a vehicle.

8. A license to carry is not required also if the handgun is within the real property, legal dwelling place or business establishment of the owner. This condition is still subject to whatever restriction written in the license though.

9. Unless in compliance with the National Firearms Act or Michigan Gun Laws, the sale, transfer, possession or transport of machine gun is not allowed.

Michigan Gun Laws Concealed Carry Requirements

A permit to carry is valid until the applicant’s birthdate that falls not less than 4 years or not more than 5 years after the issuance of the license. A person who wishes to apply for a Concealed Carry Permit must undergo the following procedures:

1. Complete the application form and take an oath before the clerk of the county where the applicant resides.

2. Submit a passport-quality picture.

3. Provide two sets of fingerprints in the application.

4. Pay the necessary fees (currently amounting $105.00).

5. Should not possess any of the disqualifying factors associated in the possession of a gun.

States that Honor Permits Issued Under Michigan Gun Laws

The following states recognize permits issued under Michigan Gun Laws:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. Colorado
  6. Delaware
  7. Florida
  8. Georgia
  9. Idaho
  10. Indiana
  11. Iowa
  12. Kansas
  13. Kentucky
  14. Louisiana
  15. Maine
  16. Minnesota
  17. Mississippi
  18. Missouri
  19. Montana
  20. Nebraska
  21. Nevada
  22. New Hampshire
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota
  25. Ohio
  26. Oklahoma
  27. Pennsylvania
  28. South Carolina
  29. South Dakota
  30. Tennessee
  31. Texas
  32. Utah
  33. Vermont
  34. Virginia
  35. Washington
  36. West Virginia
  37. Wisconsin
  38. Wyoming

On the other hand, Michigan Gun Laws honor permits issued from the following states:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. Florida
  10. Georgia
  11. Hawaii
  12. Idaho
  13. Indiana
  14. Iowa
  15. Kansas
  16. Kentucky
  17. Louisiana
  18. Maine
  19. Maryland
  20. Massachusetts
  21. Minnesota
  22. Mississippi
  23. Missouri
  24. Montana
  25. Nebraska
  26. Nevada
  27. New Hampshire
  28. New Jersey
  29. New Mexico
  30. New York
  31. North Carolina
  32. North Dakota
  33. Ohio
  34. Oklahoma
  35. Oregon
  36. Pennsylvania
  37. Rhode Island
  38. South Carolina
  39. South Dakota
  40. Tennessee
  41. Texas
  42. Utah
  43. Virginia
  44. Washington
  45. West Virginia
  46. Wisconsin
  47. Wyoming

Preemption

Michigan Gun Laws state that the regulation of firearms and ammunition is reserved only to the state legislature and not to the political subdivisions of the state.