Mississippi Gun Laws

Mississippi Gun Laws

Mississippi Gun Laws are based on the Article 3, Section 12 of Mississippi’s Constitutional Provision that reads, “The right of every citizen to keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person, or property, or in aid of the civil power when thereto legally summoned, shall not be called in question, but the legislature may regulate or forbid carrying concealed weapons.”

In general, Mississippi Gun Laws are much like the laws of the majority of the states in the US. A permit to purchase, registration and licensing of firearm owners are not required. However, a permit to carry should be in the possession of a person who wishes to carry a handgun in public places outside of his property.

States that Honor Permits Issued Under Mississippi Gun Laws

There are many states that recognize permits issued under Mississippi Gun Laws, these are:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. Colorado
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Idaho
  9. Indiana
  10. Iowa
  11. Kansas
  12. Kentucky
  13. Louisiana
  14. Michigan
  15. Missouri
  16. Montana
  17. New Hampshire
  18. North Carolina
  19. Oklahoma
  20. Pennsylvania
  21. South Dakota
  22. Tennessee
  23. Texas
  24. Utah
  25. Vermont
  26. Virginia
  27. Washington
  28. West Virginia
  29. Wyoming

On the other hand, permits issued from the states below are honored by Mississippi Gun Laws:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. Colorado
  6. Connecticut
  7. Florida
  8. Georgia
  9. Idaho
  10. Indiana
  11. Iowa
  12. Kansas
  13. Kentucky
  14. Louisiana
  15. Maine
  16. Michigan
  17. Minnesota
  18. Missouri
  19. Montana
  20. Nebraska
  21. Nevada
  22. New Hampshire
  23. New Mexico
  24. North Carolina
  25. North Dakota
  26. Ohio
  27. Oklahoma
  28. Oregon
  29. Pennsylvania
  30. Rhode Island
  31. South Carolina
  32. South Dakota
  33. Tennessee
  34. Texas
  35. Utah
  36. Virginia
  37. Washington
  38. West Virginia
  39. Wisconsin
  40. Wyoming

Key Rules and Restrictions Provided in Mississippi Gun Laws

Here are the key requirements and prohibitions expressly stated under Mississippi Gun Laws:

1. Lending, selling or transferring a firearm to a person who is a minor or under the influence of an intoxicating substance is prohibited.

2. Anyone convicted of a felony is deprived of the right to possess a gun. Such right can only be obtained again when the person has already been pardoned of such crime, has received a relief from disability under federal law, or if he has been granted by the court a certificate of rehabilitation.

3. Carrying a handgun even with a concealed carry permit is not allowed in schools, courthouses, police stations, detention facilities, polling stations, activities organized by the government, areas that serve intoxicating beverages, athletic events, parades, demonstrations, places of worships, airports, places with visible signs stating that guns are not allowed, “places of nuisance” (as defined by the Mississippi Code), or other areas prohibited by federal laws.

4. A person above 18 years old can carry a firearm within his real property associated with his home or business. A firearm can also be carried in a motor vehicle as long as it is securely stored in a container and it is unloaded.

5. The possession of a concealed weapon of a person below 18 years old is not allowed even with the permission of his legal guardian or parent.

6. When charged with carrying a firearm, a person may use as a defense any of the following:

  • He is lawfully pursuing a felon.
  • He has sufficient reason to do so because another person is threatening him.
  • He is a member of the Armed Forces, law enforcement agency or other institutions under the government wherein its personnel are required to carry a weapon.
  • He is engaged in a federal or state-recognized activity involving guns.

7. The possession of a machine gun is not allowed unless it is legally registered and owned in compliance to all the requirements set forth by federal and Mississippi Gun Laws.

8. The possession of a silencer or muffler, whether or not accompanied by a gun, is prohibited.

9. Having a rifle with barrel length less than 16 inches or shotgun with barrel length of less than 18 inches is not permitted by Mississippi Gun Laws.

Concealed Carry Requirements

To be eligible for a license to carry a concealed handgun, the applicant should have the following qualities:

1. He should be at least 21 years of age.

2. A US citizen and a resident of Mississippi for over 12 months.

3. Not physically or mentally impaired. He should also be able to show competence in handling a handgun.

4. Not considered as a threat to himself or to the public.

5. Not convicted of a felony.

6. Not charged with a misdemeanor related to violence for the past three years.

7. Not an abuser of illegal or controlled substance.

8. Must be able to complete the required form and submit the necessary documents plus its attachments.

It should be noted that persons authorized by the law to carry a handgun without a permit are exemptions to the rule. Examples of these are law enforcement officials, investigators from the Attorney General’s office, Deputy Fire Marshall, or the duly authorized investigator of the Fire Marshall.

Preemption

Mississippi Gun Laws do not allow any political subdivision of the state such as municipalities and or counties to adopt ordinances that limit or require the possession, transportation, sale, transfer or ownership of guns, ammunition and their components. Local governments can only regulate the discharge of firearms, carrying firearms at public parks or public events, or the utilization of guns in insurrections, riots and natural disasters.