Nevada Gun Laws

nevada gun laws

Nevada Gun Laws are based on the Article 1, Section 11, Paragraph 1 of the Nevada State Constitution which reads, “Every citizen has the right to keep and bear arms for security and defense, for lawful hunting and recreational use and for other lawful purposes.”

In general, Nevada Gun Laws do not require permit to purchase, registration and licensing of firearm owners. However, Clark County requires the registration of handguns acquired after October 1, 2007. This should be made within 72 hours of the purchase or transfer of a handgun. Then, a permit to carry is needed for individuals who want to possess handguns in public places which are not prohibited by federal and state laws.

Validity of Permits Issued Under Nevada Gun Laws in Other Jurisdictions

Currently, there are 21 states that recognize permits issued under Nevada Gun Laws. These are:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arkansas
  4. Idaho (enhanced permits)
  5. Indiana
  6. Iowa
  7. Kansas
  8. Kentucky
  9. Louisiana
  10. Michigan
  11. Minnesota
  12. Missouri
  13. Montana
  14. Nebraska
  15. North Carolina
  16. Oklahoma
  17. South Dakota
  18. Tennessee
  19. Texas
  20. Utah
  21. Vermont

On the other hand, Nevada Gun Laws honor permits issued from the following states:

  1. Alaska
  2. Arkansas
  3. Idaho (enhanced permits)
  4. Kansas
  5. Kentucky
  6. Louisiana
  7. Michigan
  8. Nebraska
  9. New Mexico
  10. North Carolina
  11. North Dakota (class 1 permits)
  12. Ohio
  13. South Carolina
  14. Tennessee
  15. West Virginia

Key Provisions of Nevada Gun Laws

In addition to the ones mentioned in the earlier section of this article, here are the other rules and restrictions provided in Nevada Gun Laws:

1. Anyone who is found to be trading a concealable gun to a person under 18 years old is guilty of category B felony.

2. A concealable firearm is any gun that has less than 12 inches of barrel length.

3. Nevada Gun Laws define a pistol as a firearm capable of being hidden within a person and can be fired with only one hand.

4. As mentioned, a permit should be carried by a person possessing a gun in public whether his firearm is hidden or in plain view. Exempted from this rule are the persons authorized by the law to carry firearms in their line of duty such as law enforcement officials, members of the US Armed Forces, peace officers, and others.

5. A firearm, even with a permit, is prohibited in airports, school properties including its vehicles, public buildings with metal detectors or areas where there are signages indicating that firearms are not permitted.

6. When keeping a gun inside of a vehicle traveling in public roads, it should be locked, unloaded and securely stored inside an appropriate container.

7. Possessing a machine gun or a silencer is allowed as long as it is in compliance to federal and Nevada Gun Laws.

8. Possessing, manufacturing, selling or transferring a rifle with a barrel length of less than 16 inches or shotgun with a barrel length of less than 18 inches is illegal. This rule also applies to any rifle or shotgun with an overall length of less than 26 inches. Again, exempted from this prohibition are persons who are lawfully carrying these types of firearms in their line of duty or those that are licensed by the US Department of Treasury as manufacturers, importers, collectors or traders.

Requirements in Securing a Permit to Carry

Any individual who wishes to acquire a permit to carry must fulfill the following conditions:

1. He should be at least 21 years old.

2. Must be able to complete all the forms and submit all the documentary requirements imposed by the state and federal laws.

3. Must pay the necessary fees required by the issuing authority.

4. Not a convicted felon or fugitive from justice.

5. Not involved in any offense involving violence or stalking.

6. Not a subject of a court order wherein he is stripped of the right to possess a firearm.

7. Not an abuser of illegal, controlled or intoxicating substances.

8. Must be able to demonstrate competence in the proper use of a firearm and he must be able to successfully complete the training course required by the state.

9. Should take the writted oath administered by the sheriff of his county.

Preemption

There is a preemptive clause in Nevada Gun Laws that only reserves to the State Legislature the ability to regulate transfer, sale, purchase, ownership, transport, registration and licensing of guns and ammunition. The political subdivisions of the state can implement ordinances that govern the unsafe discharge of firearms.