Ohio Gun Laws

ohio gun laws

Ohio Gun Laws are based on the Article 1, Section 1 of the State of Ohio’s Constitution which reads, “The people have the right to bear arms for their defense and security; but standing armies, in time of peace, are dangerous to liberty, and shall not be kept up; and the military shall be in strict subordination to the civil power.”

Similar to the majority of states in the country, Ohio Gun Laws do not require permit to purchase guns, registration of firearms and licensing of gun owners. However, a permit to carry is required for people possessing handguns in areas outside their properties which are not prohibited by federal and state laws.

Validity of Permits Issued Under Ohio Gun Laws in Other Jurisdictions

Permits issued under Ohio Gun Laws are honored in the following states:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Idaho
  8. Indiana
  9. Iowa
  10. Kansas
  11. Kentucky
  12. Louisiana
  13. Michigan
  14. Minnesota
  15. Missouri
  16. Montana
  17. Nebraska
  18. Nevada
  19. North Carolina
  20. North Dakota
  21. Oklahoma
  22. South Carolina
  23. Tennessee
  24. Utah
  25. Vermont
  26. Virginia
  27. Washington
  28. West Virginia
  29. Wyoming

On the other hand, permits issued from the states below are recognized by Ohio Gun Laws:

  1. Alaska
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas
  4. Delaware
  5. Florida
  6. Idaho
  7. Kansas
  8. Kentucky
  9. Louisiana
  10. Michigan
  11. Missouri
  12. Nebraska
  13. New Mexico
  14. North Carolina
  15. North Dakota
  16. Oklahoma
  17. South Carolina
  18. Tennessee
  19. Utah
  20. Virginia
  21. Washington
  22. West Virginia
  23. Wyoming

Key Provisions of Ohio Gun Laws

In addition to the general rules stated in the earlier part of this article, here is a closer look at the key rules and regulations of Ohio Gun Laws:

1. It is illegal to sell a handgun to a person below 21 years of age or any type of firearm to someone under 18 years old. Likewise, it is unlawful to allow the persons mentioned to possess the type of firearms restricted to them unless they are engaging in lawful hunting, or participating in sports or educational activities involving guns.

2. A person under the influence of intoxicating substances not limited to liquor or drugs is prohibited from possessing a gun or ammunition.

3. Buying or acquiring a rifle or shotgun in the states contiguous to Ohio is allowed as long as the buyer or acquirer is not restricted by federal or Ohio Gun Laws from possessing such.

4. Unless relieved of charges, disability or sentence, a person is not permitted to own a gun if he falls under the following conditions:

  • He is a fugitive from justice.
  • The individual is a convicted felon or under indictment.
  • He is a drug abuser.
  • The person is adjudged as mentally incompetent or is undergoing treatment in a mental institution.

5. Carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited, unless the one carrying it possesses a license to carry. Law enforcement officials, or authorized agents and employees of the government are allowed by law to carry concealed handguns in the discharge of their duties.

6. Even with a handgun license to carry, a person is prohibited from possessing a handgun in schools, law enforcement facilities, detention areas, airports, places that serve intoxicating beverages, areas of worship, government owned buildings, private properties where conspicuous signs barring the possession of gun are posted, and other locations specifically mentioned in federal laws. The exemptions to the mentioned prohibitions are the same with the ones enumerated in the previous item (number 5) with the addition of persons allowed by owners of private facilities to legitimately carry firearms.

7. A handgun may be kept loaded inside a vehicle as long as the possessor has a concealed handgun permit or temporary license to carry handgun. However, he must exercise safety precautions when doing so.

8. A handgun license to carry is not required if the handgun inside the vehicle is securely locked in a container, in a car compartment that can only be reached by going out of the vehicle, and unloaded.

9. When flagged down by a law enforcement officer, a person carrying a loaded handgun must keep his hands in plain sight of the officer. Then, he should inform the officer about his license and he must comply with all the instructions given by the officer.

10. Automatic firearms, short-barreled rifles, short-barreled shotguns, guns of “crude or extemporized manufacture”, or things that can be modified to be used as firearms are listed under “dangerous ordnance”. Things under this category are prohibited by law. The only persons allowed to possess, own or use such are those permitted by National Firearms Act, licensed dealers, authorized manufacturers or importers, and the same exemptions listed under item number 5 of this section’s list.

11. Under the Miscellaneous provisions of Ohio Gun Laws, firing a gun within or on a vehicle is prohibited. Also, discharging a firearm in roadways or near buildings is not allowed. The same restriction applies to areas where the possession of gun is strictly prohibited by law (see item number 6 of this list).

License to Carry Requirements

A person is qualified to apply for a license to carry a handgun if he fulfills the following conditions:

1. Must comply with the age requirement set by the state, which is 21 years old.

2. Should not possess the disqualifying factors that were pointed out above in relation to the possession of firearms or ammunition.

3. Must be a resident of Ohio for at least 45 days and a resident of the issuing county (or its adjacent county) for at least 30 days.

4. He should be able to furnish his county’s local sheriff all the required documents, complete all the needed forms, and pay the fees associated with his application.

5. The applicant should pass the background check.

6. Should not have committed a misdemeanor involving violence for the past three years.

7. Not charged for the preceding five years with assault or aggravated assault.

8. No conviction related to resisting arrest or interfering with lawful arrest.

9. Should not be a subject to a court protection order.

10. Must be able to successfully complete the state-required training course if a first time applicant.

11. Should be capable of displaying competentcy in the use of handgun.

Preemption

Ohio Gun Laws reserve the right to regulate firearms only to the state legislature.