Oklahoma Gun Laws

oklahoma gun laws

Oklahoma Gun Laws are based on the Article 2, Section 26 of the Oklahoma State Constitution which reads, “The right of a citizen to keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person, or property, or in aid of the civil power, when thereunto legally summoned, shall never be prohibited, but nothing herein contained shall prevent the legislature from regulating the carrying of weapons.”

In general, Oklahoma Gun Laws do not require permit to purchase, registration, and licensing of rifle, shotgun or handgun owners. However, similar to other states, a person in possession of a handgun outside his dwelling place or business establishment needs a Concealed Carry License or CCL.

Validity of Permits Issued Under Oklahoma Gun Laws in Other Jurisdictions

Permits issued under Oklahoma Gun Laws are recognized in the following states:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. Colorado
  6. Delaware
  7. Florida
  8. Georgia
  9. Idaho
  10. Indiana
  11. Iowa
  12. Kansas
  13. Kentucky
  14. Louisiana
  15. Michigan
  16. Minnesota
  17. Mississippi
  18. Missouri
  19. Montana
  20. Nebraska
  21. New Hampshire
  22. New Mexico
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota
  25. Ohio
  26. Pennsylvania
  27. South Carolina
  28. South Dakota
  29. Tennessee
  30. Texas
  31. Utah
  32. Vermont
  33. Virginia
  34. Washington
  35. West Virginia
  36. Wyoming

On the other hand, handgun permits issued from the places below are honored by Oklahoma Gun Laws:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. Florida
  10. Georgia
  11. Hawaii
  12. Idaho
  13. Indiana
  14. Iowa
  15. Kansas
  16. Kentucky
  17. Louisiana
  18. Maine
  19. Maryland
  20. Massachusetts
  21. Michigan
  22. Minnesota
  23. Mississippi
  24. Missouri
  25. Montana
  26. Nebraska
  27. Nevada
  28. New Hampshire
  29. New Jersey
  30. New Mexico
  31. New York
  32. North Carolina
  33. North Dakota
  34. Ohio
  35. Oregon
  36. Pennsylvania
  37. Rhode Island
  38. South Carolina
  39. South Dakota
  40. Tennessee
  41. Texas
  42. Utah
  43. Vermont
  44. Virginia
  45. Washington
  46. District of Columbia
  47. West Virginia
  48. Wisconsin
  49. Wyoming

Key Provisions of Oklahoma Gun Laws

In addition to the general rules mentioned in the first part of this article, here is a closer look at the requirements and restrictions provided by Oklahoma Gun Laws:

1. Unless the purpose of the possession is for lawful hunting, sports or educational purpose, a person under 18 years of age is not allowed to possess a gun that is neither a rifle nor shotgun. Any illegal firearm confiscated from a person under 18 years old is subject to forfeiture.

2. Anyone convicted of a felony is not permitted to possess a gun. Likewise, anyone who has been adjudicated delinquent for any offense that would be equal to felony if committed as an adult is barred from possessing a gun until 10 years has lapsed from such adjudication.

3. A person under the supervision of the Department of Corrections is prohibited from owning a gun.

4. Possessing a gun on school premises and school-owned vehicles is not allowed. However, the same exemptions stated in the number 1 item of this section applies. In addition to those things mentioned, peace officers on duty or persons legally carrying a firearm inside a vehicle while transporting a student to and from the school are also excluded from the prohibition as long as the person in possession does not remain on school grounds.

5. Peace officers on duty, individuals engaged in lawful hunting or fishing, persons who are within their dwelling places, persons who are inside their own business establishments, or people who are participating in educational or recreational activities involving guns are allowed to carry a firearm even without a CCL.

6. When transporting a firearm, it should be unloaded at all times except when his CCL expressly allows the possession of a loaded gun.

7. Carrying a firearm while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or a prescribed drug that is capable of inducing abnormal behavior is not allowed by Oklahoma Gun Laws.

8. Possessing a firearm with the purpose of injuring someone or committing an unlawful act is punishable by law.

9. A concealed handgun with more than .45 caliber is illegal even with a CCL.

10. An individual possessing a CCL is required to show the license to a police officer when asked.

11. Unless a law enforcement officer or an authorized carrier of firearm within the institutions provided, a person is not permitted to carry a firearm (even with a CCL) in government buildings, meeting involving elected and appointed officials of the government or prisons.

12. Oklahoma Gun Laws are silent on antique and replica firearms, which means that they shall be treated as ordinary firearms.

13. Except in compliance to federal laws and regulations, possessing or trading a machine gun is not allowed.

14. Discharging a firearm from a vehicle (except when lawfully hunting and with the necessary permit from the Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation Director), accross a public road or railroad, into a residence, or a public commercial building are prohibited by law.

15. Hunting, possession of firearms or pursuing a game within 440 yards of a church, school or any public place where people may assemble is prohibited.

16. It is illegal to make, sell or possess armor-piercing rounds.

Concealed Carry License Requirements

Anyone who wished to apply for a CCL must be able to fulfill the following conditions set by Oklahoma Gun Laws:

1. Must be a US citizen and Oklahoma resident.

2. Should be at least 21 years old.

3. Must be able to complete the firearms safety and training course required by the state.

4. The applicant must completely fill-up all the needed forms, provide the necessary documentary requirements and pay all the fees associated with his application.

5. Should not possess the disqualifying factors mentioned in the preceding section for the past three years.

6. Should not be suffering from mental illness or currently committed to a mental institution for treatment for the past three years.

7. Not a habitual law offender.

8. Not facing a felony charge or has been cleared of any felony charge.

9. Not a subject to a court protection order for the past sixty days or has been cleared of such sixty days prior to the application.

10. Not living with a delinquent or felon for the past 30 days.

11. Must take an oath and sign in person before the county sheriff of the person’s place of residence.

12. Should pass the background check conducted by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI).

It should be noted that the application for CCL is available from the county sheriff or through mail from the OSBI.

Preemption

The right to make amendments in Oklahoma Gun Laws is only reserved to the State Legislature. However, the political subdivisions of the State are allowed to make ordinances that govern the discharge and improper transport of firearms. In addition, the municipalities can also make ordinances relating to the confiscation of properties which were used unlawfully. However, no municipal ordinance connected to transporting a firearm improperly should have a provision for confiscation of property.