The primary basis of Alabama Gun Laws is its State Constitutional Provision that says, “That every citizen has a right to bear arms in defense of himself and the state.”
Basically, Alabama Gun Laws do not require permits and registrations when buying a handguns, rifles and shotguns. Owners are also not required to acquire a license their guns. However, only handguns are allowed to be carried in public and it requires a permit in order to do so. Then, only individuals who are at least 18 years of age are allowed to own a gun under Alabama Gun Laws.
Validity of Alabama Gun Laws
The gun permits issued by Alabama to its residents are recognized by 25 other states like:
- New Hampshire
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
Other Gun Permits Recognized by Alabama Gun Laws
On the other hand, the permits issued from other states except Illinois and Vermont are recognized by Alabama. However, a gun permit holder from Alaska, Colorado and Iowa are only allowed to carry firearms as long as they are not below 21 years old. Then, A Class 1 permit owner from North Dakota should be at least 21 while a Class 2 owner from the same State should be at least 18 years of age.
Aside from the age restriction, Alabama gun laws do not allow permits for individuals who are non-US residents, incompetent to stand trial, guilty of a criminal case, has used mental illness as a defense in trial, has been required to be treated at a psychiatric hospital, has been committed to a hospital due to drug abuse, has not been declared by court to be unfit to carry a firearm, used fraud to secure application and not a threat to public safety. In addition, guns are generally not allowed in places specified by Alabama Gun Laws or the US federal law.