Colorado Gun Laws are based on the Constitutional Provision of the state that says, “The right of no person to keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person and property, or in aid of the civil power when thereto legally summoned, shall be called in question; but nothing herein contained shall be construed to justify the practice of carrying concealed weapons.”
Basically, Colorado Gun Laws are pretty much the same with the majority of the states in the US because it does not require permit to purchase, registration and licensing of owners. However, it does require a concealed carry permit for handguns.
Summary of the Key Rules and Restrictions Under Colorado Gun Laws
Here are the key rules and prohibitions stated under Colorado Gun Laws:
1. A $10 fee is required by the state for every transfer of firearm.
2. Gun sellers are required to keep a record of all the transactions they made involving handguns.
3. As of July 1, 2013, a universal background check was enforced to all buyers of guns.
4. Buying a shotgun or rifle in states contiguous to Colorado is allowed as long as the transaction abides by Colorado Gun Laws and laws of the other state involved.
5. Magazines that can carry more than 15 rounds of ammunition are illegal. Then, a shotgun is only allowed to load up to 8 rounds of shells or not more than 28 inches of shells in an extension device.
6. Possession of firearm by a person convicted or about to commit an act of felony, conspiracy, misdemeanor domestic violence or adjudicated delinquent for a felony is prohibited. A person under the influence of intoxicating substances is included in this prohibition as well.
7. An individual below 18 years old is not allowed to carry a handgun except when within a real property under the control of his parent, legal guardian or grandparent. Also, the permission of any of the mentioned people is required for his possession of firearm. Other exemptions are when he is attending a hunter’s safety training, engaged in lawful target shooting, or hunting with a valid license. Traveling to and from any of these activities with a gun is allowed too as long as the firearm is unloaded and within the supervision of his parent, guardian or grandparent.
8. A permit is needed together with a valid ID when the person is carrying a concealable firearm in places outside his legal dwelling place, properties or place of business. Excluded in this provision are persons who are law enforcers in the state, peace officers in Colorado, members of the US Armed Forces and others authorized by federal and Colorado Gun Laws.
9. Carrying a gun, even with a permit, is not allowed in schools, legislative hearings, meetings organized by the government and other areas expressly prohibited by Colorado Gun Laws.
10. When traveling with a firearm, its chamber should be unloaded and stored in a secure casing or container.
11. The possession of a machine gun is illegal except with officials sanctioned by the government who are on duty.
Concealed Carry Permit Requirements
A concealed carry permit is effective five years after its issuance and can be renewed. To be eligible for a concealed carry permit, a person should pass the following requirements:
1. At least 21 years old.
2. A legal resident of Colorado.
3. Does not possess the disqualification factors brought about by conviction of felony, use of illegal substances, alcohol dependence or restraining order from court.
4. Must show competence in handling a firearm.
5. Not deemed by the Sheriff as a danger to self and others.
Validity of Permits Issues Under Colorado Gun Laws
Permits issued under Colorado Gun Laws are recognized by the following states:
- New Hampshire
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
On the other hand, Colorado Gun Laws also recognize the firearm permits issued under the mentioned states with the addition of New Mexico and with the exemption of Vermont.
Colorado Gun Laws state that no local governing body should prohibit traveling with a gun for hunting or lawful purposes.