Compared to the other major areas of the US, Florida Gun Laws are more lenient. The key provision of Florida Gun Laws state that “The right of the people to keep and bear arms in defense of themselves and of the lawful authority of the state shall not be infringed, except that the manner of bearing arms may be regulated by law.”
The legislature of the State also provides under the “Weapons and Firearms” statute of its Declaration of Policy that it recognizes the right of individuals given by the US Constitution to bear firearms for hunting and sporting activities and for defense of self, family, home, and business and as collectible.
Validity of Permits Under Florida Gun Laws
Permits issued in states which also recognize the ones issued in Florida are recognized under Florida Gun Laws. The following are the states wherein Florida shares reciprocity agreements:
- New Hampshire
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Key Rules Provided by Florida Gun Laws
Florida Gun Laws do not require permits for possession or purchase of rifles, shotguns and handguns. However, there are certain restrictions provided by the state law that deprives a person the right to own or carry guns.
Here are the key restrictions given by Florida Gun Laws:
1. A person under 18 years of age is not allowed to possess a gun unless he has permission from his parents or he is an active member of the Armed Forces. A license to carry a concealed handgun is only given if a person is at least 21 years old, or a veteran or active member of the U.S. Armed Forces.
2. People who are alcoholics, drug abusers, mentally incompetent, physically unable to safely carry firearm, vagrants, convicted felons, stripped from such right by the court and those who have existing restraining orders stemming from domestic violence are not permitted to possess a gun.
3. Prior to purchase or transfer of ownership of a gun, a person should complete the forms required by the Department of Law Enforcement.
4. Open or concealed carry of a firearm outside the home or place of business without a license is illegal except for individuals who are engaged in fishing, hunting, camping, or target shooting in a secured indoor range. The exemption also includes travelling from the gun repair shop or place of purchase of the gun to the home, or going to and from an exhibition for gun clubs or gun collectors. It should be remembered though that the gun should be unloaded and stored in a secure encasing during these situations. Actively employed Military, law enforcement and private guards plus gun manufacturers, gun smiths or authorized firearm dealers are not covered by this limitation as well.
5. The possession of a machine gun is prohibited.
6. It is unlawful to carry or possess a gun in areas specifically banned by Federal laws.
Florida Gun Laws do not prevent individuals from using their guns for self defense in places where they have the legal right to be in. A person has the right to stand his ground and use force, even deadly force, if he reasonably believes that he or others in his vicinity is in grave danger of getting injured or if a life is at stake.