Georgia Gun Laws are based on the Constitutional Provision of the state that says, “The right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed, but the General Assembly shall have power to prescribe the manner in which arms may be borne.”
Generally, Georgia Gun Laws are very lenient, which is similar to the majority of the areas in the US. The state laws of Georgia do not require permit to purchase firearms, registration of guns and licensing of its owners. However, its laws require concealed carry permits for handguns. More of these shall be discussed in the succeeding parts of this article.
Rules and Restrictions Listed Under Georgia Gun Laws
Here are the rules and restrictions provided by Georgia Gun Laws:
1. A person under 18 is not allowed to possess or own a handgun unless within his parent or guardian’s supervisiona and approval, engaging in target shooting or training at an established facility, lawfully hunting or fishing, participating in a competition, or within the real property of his parent, guardian or grandparent. However, a minor cannot enjoy such exemptions if convicted of a forcible crime or adjudicated delinquent for an act that would be considered a forcible crime if committed as an adult.
2. Conviction of felony automatically disqualifies a person from possessing, transporting, buying or selling a firearm.
3. A gun dealer cannot sell a gun to a person without a clearance from Georgia Bureau of Investigation. Exempted from this rule are licensed importers, manufacturers, collectors and holders of permit to carry.
4. An open or concealed carry will only be allowed if the person possesses a license to carry. However, not included in this provision is person who is within his legal dwelling place, registered place of business, transporting an unloaded firearm in a secured container within a vehicle, hunting or fishing with a license, or inside another’s property with permission from the owner.
5. It is illegal in the state to possess short-barreled shotguns or short-barreled rifles. Likewise, it is unlawful to possess silencers, explosives or machine guns. Only persons authorized by the law such as law enforcers and members of the Armed Forces are exempted from this prohibition.
6. Pointing a gun at another person is prohibited.
7. Discharging a gun across a public road or street is not allowed.
8. The possession of a gun while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is not permitted.
9. Carrying a firearm even with a license is not allowed within 1,000 feet of any school property, school activities, school bus or other vehicles owned by the school. However, not included in this restriction are people living within the prohibited zone, individuals visiting them, participants of school activities that involve guns or others with authorization from the law.
Georgia Gun Laws License to Carry Requirements
Below are the requirements of Georgia Gun Laws for people who wish to secure a permit that would enable them to carry their guns:
1. Must be at least 21 years old.
2. No pending charges of felony, forcible misdemeanor or weapons violation.
3. Must have been freed of forcible misdemeanor five years prior or freed from weapons carry violation for the past three years.
4. Not a patient in a mental institution or controlled substance treatment center for at least five years.
5. Should not have been convicted of offenses related to illegal substances or drugs.
States that Recognize Permits Issued Under Georgia Gun Laws
The following states recognize handgun permits issued from Georgia:
- New Hampshire
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
On the other hand, Georgia Gun Laws also recognize permits issued from the above-mentioned states, except Vermont.
According to the Miscellaneous Provisions of Georgia Gun Laws, no political subdivision or the state or municipal corporation is allowed to limit in any way the conduct of gun shows plus possession, ownership, transport, transfer, sale, licensing or firearms or its components.