The State Constitutional provision which serves as the primary basis of Louisiana Gun Laws says, “The right of each citizen to keep and bear arms shall not be abridged, but this provision shall not prevent the passage of laws to prohibit the carrying of weapons concealed on the person.”
Compared to other states, Louisiana Gun Laws are more lenient. The gun laws of this state have lesser restrictions and they recognize permits issued from numerous states.
Validity of Louisiana Gun Laws in Other States
There are 37 states where permits issued under Louisiana Gun Laws are valid. These are:
- New Hampshire
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
On the other hand, Louisiana Gun Laws considers permits issued from all the states that recognize its own gun permits valid except Vermont.
Key Rules and Restrictions of Louisiana Gun Laws
Here is a quick run of the key requirements and restrictions provided by Louisiana Gun Laws:
1. Purchasing, receiving or transporting a rifle, shotgun or ammunition from other states is allowed as long as it complies with Louisiana Gun Laws, the law of the other state involved and federal laws.
2. A permit is not required for the possession of a rifle, shotgun or handgun.
3. A person who has been convicted of any crime related to violence is barred from the possession of firearms for 10 years after his sentence has been served. Then, a conviction in misdemeanor charge connected violence bans a person from possession of a gun for 5 years. It should be noted though that a court decision may deprive of an individual of this right depending on the gravity of his offense.
4. Only an individual at least 21 years old is allowed to carry a gun. He must be physically and psychologically able. He should also be able to pass the training and exams sanctioned by the state.
5. Possession, transfer or sale of automatic firearms, short barreled shotguns, short-barreled rifles and weapons modified with mufflers or silencers are illegal without the approval of the state’s Department of Safety.
6. Transporting firearms are allowed as long as they are legally possessed and stored in a securely locked container inside the vehicle. However, parking in areas where guns are not allowed is prohibited.
7. Among the areas defined by Louisiana Gun Laws where guns are not allowed are courthouses, law enforcement facilities, detention areas, jails, airports, places of worship, demonstrations, parades, bars, schools and privately-owned establishments. Carrying or possession of guns in private establishments is allowed as long as the owner consents it.
Louisiana Gun Laws allow state preemptions. However, local laws passed prior to July 15, 1985 are exempted from this.