The state of Minnesota is among the few states that do not have a Constitutional Provision for gun ownership or possession. But in general, Minnesota Gun Laws do not require a permit to purchase, registration and licensing of rifles and shotguns. Minnesota Gun Laws do require a permit to purchase for handguns though as well as a permit to carry for people who wish to keep their pistols or revolvers in public areas or areas specified by the law.
Validity of Permits Issued Under Minesota Gun Laws in Other Jurisdictions
Permits issued under Minnesota Gun Laws are valid in the following states:
- North Carolina
- South Dakota
On the other hand, Minnesota Gun Laws only honor the permits issued from the states below:
- New Mexico
Rules and Restrictions Provided in Minnesota Gun Laws
Here are the requirements and the prohibitions stated in Minnesota Gun Laws:
1. A transferee permit should be presented by a person to a dealer when buying a gun. Such permit can be acquired from the police chief of a municipality or a county sheriff. The issuance of such permit depends on the fulfillment of the applicant of the requirements set forth by the law such as the submission of the needed forms and supporting documents. The applicant should also not have any of the disqualifying factors connected to the possession of firearms.
2. A person is not allowed to possess a gun if:
- He is under 18 years of age, except with the express approval of his legal guardian or parent. An individual under 18 years old is also exempted from this restriction if he is undergoing military training, under the supervised instruction of a competent trainer, participating in target practice or contests sanctioned by legal entities, or if he has successfully passed a marksmanship and safety course administered by the Commissioner of Natural Resources.
- He has been adjudicated delinquent or has been charged with crimes involving violence.
- He is mentally unfit.
- He is a controlled-substance abuser.
- He is not a citizen of the US or he has renounced his US citizenship.
3. A person under 14 years of age is not permitted to possess an airgun or any type of ammunition unless with the express approval or under the direct supervision of his legal guardian or parent.
4. Even when a person has a permit to carry, he is not allowed to possess a handgun in school zones, school vehicles, private establishments with signs that ban guns, or other locations prohibited by federal or Minnesota Gun Laws.
5. An individual is allowed to possess a gun without a permit to carry if he is within his real property, in the place where the gun was purchased or repaired, in the woods or fields while lawfully hunting, inside a vehicle (provided that the gun has been unloaded and securely stored in an encasing, or the gun is an essential part of his duty as a security guard.
6. Upon the request of a peace officer, a permit holder has an obligation to disclose whether he is presently currently in possession of a firearm or not.
7. The possession of a rifle or shotgun outdoors in illegal except when it is unloaded and securely placed in an encasing or it has been broken down into a non-functioning state.
8. The ownership or possession of a rifle or shotgun with a barrel length of less than 18 inches or with a total length of less than 26 inches is not allowed by Minnesota Gun Laws. However, this restriction does not include the people authorized by law to carry such types of guns like law enforcement officers, authorized correctional facilities personnel, state or federally-accredited gun dealers, and others who are legally permitted to carry these kinds of firearms.
9. Firing a gun from the confines of a motor vehicle is not allowed even when hunting.
10. A gun must be securely stored at all times. It should be kept away from places where a child can have a direct access. Failure to follow this rule constitutes a gross misdemeanor.
Permit to Carry Requirements
To be able to successfully secure a permit to carry for handgun, a person must be at least 21 years old, a citizen of the US, a resident of Minnesota, does not have any of the disqualifying factors related to gun possession, must display competence in handling guns by passing all the basic firearms training courses required by Minnesota Gun Laws, and he must submit the necessary documents and fees required by the issuing authority.